Disclosure. Published by SovereignAI Security Labs, maker of SentraGuard, one of the platforms compared.
Buyer's guide · GCC edition

Shadow AI platforms compared: 22 vendors by surface, deployment and evidence

A side-by-side view of 22 shadow AI platforms, for security and procurement teams in the GCC. Filter by form factor, deployment and pricing. Then use the 12-question checklist in your evaluation.

Compiled from vendors' public websites, 19 to 20 September 2026

Read this first. Compiled from public vendor websites on the dates shown. Vendors change products often; confirm with each vendor. Corrections: info@sovereignaisecurity.com.

We record only what each vendor states on its public pages. Where a page does not state a fact, the table says “Not stated”. “Not stated” does not mean the vendor lacks the capability. SovereignAI Security Labs publishes this guide and makes SentraGuard, which is in the table.

Market patterns

Five patterns across the 22 vendors

  • The browser extension is table stakes. 19 of the 22 vendors ship one.
  • Endpoint agents are the 2026 differentiator. They cover desktop AI apps and CLI coding agents, which a browser extension does not see.
  • Agents and MCP are now on every page. Vendor pages now discuss AI agents and MCP servers alongside human AI use.
  • Three acquisitions in 14 months. Akamai bought LayerX. SentinelOne bought Prompt Security. CrowdStrike announced the acquisition of Seraphic.
  • Few vendors publish prices. Five of the 22 publish a price or a free tier. In this set, no vendor except SentraGuard states air-gapped discovery or a mapping to GCC regulators.
Comparison

22 shadow AI platforms, side by side

Form factor filters match a vendor if it offers any of the selected form factors. “Proxy or SSE” includes AI, LLM and MCP gateways and local proxies. “Public price or free tier” counts a published price or a free product tier; trials and free assessment tools are not counted.

Form factor
Showing 22 of 22 vendors
VendorStatus 2026Form factorPositioningEntry offerOn-prem statedGCC regulator mapping stated
LayerXAcquired by Akamai ($205M, closed 2 Jul 2026). Renamed Akamai Workforce Protector.Browser extension“Expose and eliminate shadow AI tools”. Personal vs corporate accounts. AI extension permissions.Demo onlyNot statedNo
Harmonic SecurityIndependent. $17.5M Series A (2024).Browser extension, endpoint agent, MCP gateway, on-device small language modelsClassifies AI tasks. 1,000+ apps.Three named tiers. AWS Marketplace listing at $163 per user per year (200-user minimum).Not statedNo
Cyberhaven$1B valuation, Series D (Apr 2025).Endpoint sensor with data lineage, browser extensionAI Risk IQ app scoring.Demo only. Free AI App Risk Checker (700+ tools).Not statedNo
Quilr AISeed (Apr 2025). Austin.Endpoint agent, browser extension, LLM and MCP gateways. Cloud, VPC or on-prem.Governs third-party AI. Finds local models.Demo onlyYesNo
Nightfall AIIndependent.Browser plugin, endpoint agents, SaaS API connectors, MCP and IDE hooksRedaction of the sensitive part.Public plans page without amounts. 7-day proof of value.Not statedNo
Prompt SecurityAcquired by SentinelOne (Aug 2025).Browser extension, endpoint, AI gateway, MCP gateway in SingularityAI Usage Control module. 15,000+ AI tools and services.Demo onlyNot statedNo
Push Security$30M Series B (Apr 2025).Browser extension onlyMonitor, Acknowledge and Block modes.$5 per user per month up to 500 users. Self-serve trial.Not statedNo
Obsidian Security$85M Series D at $1.1B (Aug 2026).Browser extension plus agentless SaaS connectorsISO 42001 certified.Free tier to 1,000 users for discovery.Not statedNo
Cyera$600M Series G at $12B (Jun 2026).Browser Shield extension on agentless DSPMVisibility in 24 to 48 hours.Demo onlyNot statedNo
Island$4.8B valuation (Mar 2025).Enterprise browser plus extension, MCP gateway, LLM gateway, SASEAudit trail for human and agent.Demo only. AWS Marketplace.Not statedNo
Seraphic SecurityAcquisition by CrowdStrike announced 13 Jan 2026 (reported about $400M).In-browser runtime on any browser, inside FalconManaged and unmanaged devices.15-day free trialNot statedNo
Aegis Preflight (Zotniq)Moving to the Zotniq brand.Browser extension, native app coverage, SDK, endpoint agentOn-device prompt gate.Free exposure auditNot statedNo
AktoAPI security vendor. CSA member (May 2026).Endpoint agent (Atlas) deployed by MDM. OpenAI and Anthropic compliance API connectors.Self-hosted option.Usage-based pricing. Contact sales.Yes (self-hosted)No
Keep AwareSeed (2023). HERE browser partnership (Jul 2026).Browser extension for existing browsersGen-AI monitoring. Blocks sensitive paste and upload.Demo onlyNot statedNo
KonaSenseAngel funded. Tampa.Browser extension, IDE plugin, local proxy for CLI agents, OpenTelemetry ingest. Cloud, customer AWS or on-prem.Signed audit evidence.Contact sales. Three free tools.YesNo (maps Brazil LGPD, BACEN)
MagicMirrorAbout $2M raised. Irvine.Browser extension with on-device model, agent daemon“See your AI risk in 2 days”.Free 30-day assessmentNot statedNo
Red Access$17M Series A (Sep 2025).Agentless, firewall-native SSEGenAI and vibe-coding control.Demo onlyNot statedNo
PrivacyScrubberBootstrapped. Austin.Chrome extension, PII MCP server, SDK. Fully client-side.Not statedFree tier. Pro $15 per month. Teams $99 per month.Yes (enterprise on-prem offered)No
RepacketYC W23. Vancouver.Local security proxy on the endpointGuardrails including CUI, ITAR and EAR.14-day trial. Pro $60 per user per year.Not statedNo
WeagleEarly-stage VC (2023). Milan.Browser extension plus Windows desktop agent, MSP consoleGenAI DLP on prompts and PDFs.Demo onlyNot statedNo
LangProtectFounded Aug 2025.Browser extension (Guardia) with cloud or on-prem backendShadow AI detection and governance. 5,200+ AI tools claimed.Demo onlyYesNo
SentraGuard (SovereignAI Security Labs)PublisherIndependent. Bengaluru. GCC distribution by Forcespot.Browser plugin, IDE extensions, SDK and API gateway, endpoint agent (Windows, macOS, Linux)Discover, classify, govern, prove, with four actions.One-week pilot: inventory on day 0, full governance on day 7. Quote only.Yes (including air gapped)Yes (CBUAE, UAE IAR, UAE PDPL, DIFC, ADGM, SAMA CSF, NCA ECC, PDPL, SDAIA)

Source: each vendor's public web page listed under Sources, read 19 to 20 September 2026. Scroll the table sideways on small screens.

Checklist

GCC evaluation checklist: 12 questions to ask every vendor

Ask each vendor the same questions. Get the answers in writing. Test the answers in a pilot on your own traffic.

  1. Where is our data processed and stored?

    Why it matters in the GCC UAE PDPL, the Saudi PDPL, DIFC and ADGM rules restrict cross-border transfers. Ask where prompts, logs and metadata go, and in which country.

  2. Can the backend run on premise, in our own cloud tenancy or air gapped?

    Why it matters in the GCC Banks and government entities often cannot send inspection data to an outside SaaS. Ask for a named deployment option in writing.

  3. In an on-premise deployment, does any data leave our network?

    Why it matters in the GCC A local deployment may still send updates, telemetry or analytics to the vendor. Ask what is sent, how often and whether it can be switched off.

  4. Does detection work on Gulf data classes and on Arabic text?

    Why it matters in the GCC Emirates ID, Saudi National ID, Iqama and IBAN formats differ from US and EU patterns. Ask for detection of each class in a test, with Arabic prompts included.

  5. Can it tell a corporate AI account from a personal one?

    Why it matters in the GCC Personal accounts on corporate devices sit outside your contracts with the AI provider. Ask how the split is detected and reported.

  6. Which surfaces does it cover beyond the browser?

    Why it matters in the GCC Desktop AI apps, IDEs and CLI coding agents do not pass through a browser. Ask which of these surfaces the product sees, and on which operating systems.

  7. Does it discover AI agents and MCP servers, and what they can reach?

    Why it matters in the GCC Agents act with the rights of the user or service account. Ask whether agent tool calls get the same policy actions as human prompts.

  8. What actions can a policy take, and at what level of detail?

    Why it matters in the GCC A block-only product pushes staff to personal devices. Ask for actions such as coach and redact, set per app, per user group and per data class.

  9. What evidence can we hand to a regulator or auditor?

    Why it matters in the GCC CBUAE, SAMA, NCA and the UAE IAR expect monitoring, logging and third-party control. Ask for a sample export and whether it maps to the frameworks you report against.

  10. Which SIEM platforms does it integrate with?

    Why it matters in the GCC Most GCC security teams run Splunk, IBM QRadar, Microsoft Sentinel or ArcSight. Ask for a native connector, not only a generic webhook.

  11. Can we run a short pilot on our own traffic before we buy?

    Why it matters in the GCC Your app mix differs from vendor benchmarks. Ask for a time-boxed pilot on your own traffic, with a written readout at the end.

  12. How is it licensed, and who supports it in the region?

    Why it matters in the GCC Per-user, usage-based and tiered models give different totals at scale. Ask for the licence unit, the tier contents and the name of the local partner.

Sources

Sources

Vendor web pages, read 19 to 20 September 2026.

  1. LayerX: https://layerxsecurity.com/use-cases/shadow-ai-discovery/
  2. Harmonic Security: https://www.harmonic.security/solutions/shadow-ai-detection
  3. Cyberhaven: https://www.cyberhaven.com/product/ai-security
  4. Quilr AI: https://quilr.ai/solutions/employee-ai
  5. Nightfall AI: https://www.nightfall.ai/solutions/prevent-data-leakage-to-shadow-ai
  6. Prompt Security: https://www.sentinelone.com/platform/securing-ai-prompt/
  7. Push Security: https://pushsecurity.com/uc/shadow-ai
  8. Obsidian Security: https://www.obsidiansecurity.com/shadow-ai-security
  9. Cyera: https://www.cyera.com/platform/browser-shield
  10. Island: https://www.island.io/ai
  11. Seraphic Security: https://www.crowdstrike.com/en-us/platform/falcon-seraphic-enterprise-browser/ai-security/
  12. Aegis Preflight (Zotniq): https://aegispreflight.com/
  13. Akto: https://www.akto.io/akto-for-employees
  14. Keep Aware: https://keepaware.com/solutions/use-cases/ai-monitoring
  15. KonaSense: https://www.konasense.com/product
  16. MagicMirror: https://www.magicmirrorsecurity.com/shadow-ai-audit
  17. Red Access: https://redaccess.io/use-case-genai/
  18. PrivacyScrubber: https://privacyscrubber.com/solutions/security/
  19. Repacket: https://www.repacket.com/stops/unauthorized-ai-usage
  20. Weagle: https://weagle.ai/use-cases/
  21. LangProtect: https://www.langprotect.com/shadow-ai-detection
  22. SentraGuard (SovereignAI Security Labs): SentraGuard Shadow AI for the GCC

Find your shadow AI on the day you deploy

Reach full shadow AI governance in one week. The one-week pilot covers one business unit. Day 0 gives your first inventory. By day 7 all four actions are live, with an AI Usage Evidence Pack and an executive readout.

Start a one-week pilot